Home

Type: Pub
Price: Draft beers start at 5,000 for San Miguel, imported bottle around 8,000 on average.
+ : six imported beers on tap and a large choice of bottled beers, quiet.
– : except the beer menu nothing that special
Place info: http://place.map.daum.net/17028219  (near Sangsu exit 1, map at the end)

I am a beer lover and I am always glad when I find a place with a decent beer selection. In Itaewon / Noksapyeong it’s pretty common but it Hongdae it can be a bit harder. That’s why I’m always glad to walk in a random bar, open their menu and see more than Cass on tap 😉

That’s what happened on Friday. My friend’s friend was coming back to Korea for a wedding and after a week with his bride family he needed to eat “anything not Korean”. We decided to take him to Beeger’s, a pub we discovered a week before, to eat a burger. After dinner we decided to change place. It was Friday night and finding a bar for 6 people can sometimes be hard. We walked randomly for a few minutes and saw a pub sign on top of a building. We went up the stairs (3rd floor) and entered into Welcome Pub (I’m not sure to be a fan of that name). Here are some crappy pictures as my phone really sucks when it’s dark.

20131018_223123

The place is not that big, maybe 20-30 seats, and the decoration is average. But it was quiet and we have no problem seating together. It was around 9PM and the place got a bit busier latter, mostly with small groups of 3-4 people talking quietly. It’s more a place for deep talk than binge drinking even if they have everything you need for that 😉

20131018_211038

20131018_211042

First thing I noticed on the table was this: 6 drafts – Guiness, Paulaner, Fall Horning, Indica IPA, Carlsberg and San Miguel.

20131018_211121

That’s a nice tap selection. Then I opened the menu and the beer section was taking two pages, with maybe around 15 different beers in bottle. They especially had 6 Fuller’s beers (from London). Prices were normal. They of course also have cocktails and foods. I sadly forgot to take a picture of the other page with the draft beers on it but I think it starts at 5,000 for the San Miguel.

20131018_210608

20131018_211026

20131018_211031

I ordered a London Pride first as I wanted to try it for a while. I followed with another Fuller’s beer, the Honey Dew. You can perfectly feel the honey taste and I really enjoyed both beers.
20131018_211644

20131018_220819

One of our friends joined us after our dinner and ordered some food. I didn’t have a deep look at their dish selection but it seemed to be the classic western finger foods: french fries, chicken etc. I had a bite and there is nothing bad to say about the food. I think the chicken and french fries were around 13,000 but I’m really not sure here.
20131018_213540

So if you are looking to have some good beers in a relaxing environment you should check out this place. Personally I might go back there if I want to have a talk with a friend, but except the nice beer menu this place is not that special (not especially cheap, or well decorated, or with amazing finger food).  So if you don’t like beer that much you can find places that are much more interesting for you. However if you are on a date during the week-end maybe take the time to check it out as it’s not always that easy to find a place not too noisy in Hongdae on Friday or Saturday.

welcome pub

For more posts go back to the main page

3 thoughts on “Welcome Pub (웰컴)

  1. Pingback: Where to eat for Christmas ? | The Indie Guide To Hongdae

Leave a comment